I had a very candid conversation with a close friend of mine last night. She is a college educated woman who is in the most unhealthy relationship and has no career. With a BA in english and Master’s in Communications, this woman could be taking over the world. Instead she is “chillin” with her boyfriend in is family’s house. It really shocked me that she became that person. She had and still has so much potential.

As I began to tell her my struggles of wanting a degree and currently not making enough to take classes; she began to tell me her struggle of lacking experience and getting denied jobs. A month ago, I gave her direct contact to a PR firm that would hire her. Did she call, email, fax, or tweet them?? HELL NO. Now that she burned that bridge I said screw it, not my problem. But as her friend, I see she has some serious issues she needs to work through. She got the degree’s for her mother. She really doesn’t know what she wants to do in life and is currently wasting away being with a straight up LOSER!

I’ve complained a lot about my lack of a degree, focus, determination, career, love, etc.  NOW I see my life ain’t to bad afterall. I don’t mean to compare our lives to make myself feel better, but damn she needs to get her shit together. I don’t do anything in life to please anyone but myself. At 24, we are suppose to be in the prime of our lives, dating fabulous men, working great jobs, having excellent vacations. I see now that all that glitters isn’t gold. I don’t know about you, but I’m not the biggest fan of glitter and I piss excellence!

Mary Joseph Jr.

